Chrissy & Mr. Jones

There is a show on VH1 called Chrissy & Mr. Jones, and even though I haven’t watched all the episodes, their situation got me thinking.

Basically, Chrissy Lampkin and Jim Jones have been together for over 8 years. On Love & Hip Hop, she proposed to him and he didn’t really say yes. About a year later, he proposed, and now they are engaged. They have been engaged for some time and have lived together for years.
She is somewhere around 40, and he’s 36. And they still aren’t married. In a recent episode, she’s trying to freeze her eggs so they can have children when they eventually get married, but she says that they’re not ready to get married any time soon.

In my mind, they will never get married. If y’all living like you’re married for years, and you’re still “not ready”, what makes you think you’ll ever get married? And at the end of the day, all I can hear is my mama’s voice in my head saying “he’ll never buy the cow if he can get the milk for free”.

For me personally, I can’t imagine staying with someone who can’t see himself married to me. If you can’t make that commitment, why are we still together? Just for kicks? for laughs? That’s not enough for me. But maybe, that’s just me.

My question to the men out there, do you feel the want to marry your girlfriend after y’all have been together/lived together for years? Or does it feel more like an obligation/requirement just to keep her happy?

And to the women, would you be okay with a situation like this? Or at the end of the day, do you still expect to get married?

I’m really curious to hear what people have to say about this issue.

 

Posted on October 10, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Absolutely not! I’ve been happily married for almost sixteen years. I made it clear to hubby-then-boyfriend after we dated for a few months that I had no intention of our relationship being just a “fling” or a “phase”. I knew, even then, that I was worthy of so much more! (Also, their show is much more tantalizing for the public and ratings, I suppose.) I am familiar with the show, its premise, and the hoopla around it, but don’t watch it precisely for those reasons. I can’t tolerate that nonsense for too long before I begin screaming at the TV.

  2. Thanks for your input! I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels this way!

Leave a comment